Nation X: The Last Tycoon

At last, the end is here. Or is it the beginning? I am not really sure myself. Am I supposed to be bitter because I was betrayed by my benefactors? Yet, I have no negative feelings towards them. Maybe it is the result of those joy waves.

Whatever it is, I think I have gotten the best deal in life. As of now I am 143 years old. Yet, my appearance and body cells are like those in their 20 plus, thanks to the rejuvenation technology from my benefactors turned masters. I have lived a long prosperous life. I withheld nothing my heart’s desires may it be women, drugs or delicacies of any kind. So, I should have no regrets of facing the end. The problem is, I am happier now.

Let me begin with my story.

I started off as a small time smuggler. I was involved in almost everything illegal. Drugs, technology, weapons or anything else that people are willing to pay for.

One day, I read about a Third World Nation that had opened its doors to stem cell research companies out of desperation for more money. Almost instantly it became a pariah state to the international community. I saw an opportunity to make lots of money by helping them in the procurement of needed supplies.

At first, I did not earn much from them but I saw the potential. The events that unfolded after that had proven me right. I hit the jackpot. As the nation grew in wealth, so did I. Being the pioneer has its privileges. The formerly pariah state has become the star of the business community. Everybody wanted to do business with it. As the country’s “best friend”, I naturally become everyone’s preferred business partner. All I have to do is to maintain relationship with my clients and money keeps flowing in.

Not only that I get to benefit from their advanced medical treatment. These folks are extreme genius. The can create any organs. Throughout my life, many of my organs had failed. If not for their replacements, I would have died a long time ago. I owed them my life. This is also the same technology that enabled them to secure the support from the rich and powerful throughout the world. After all, who can say no to living long and healthy lives? As the middleman, I made a lot of money from this.

One day, they decided to give me a new communication technology. All I know is, it is based on quantum connectivity and it can provide high density data transfer for a fraction of the cost we had at that time. So, I started to implement it and earn another mountain of gold while enjoying the fame of the second Edison.

Unbeknown to me, the system that I set up can be piggybacked to scan and record the brainwaves of the people around it. They used the data to create the right sound waves that can stimulate the pleasure centres in our brains. The rest is history. The waves they emit can produce tremendous joy to their targets. Those exposed by it will want for nothing other than to be exposed to it forever. I am one of them.

Let me make it clear here. I know what it is to enjoy life. I have enjoyed all the things that many people can only afford to fantasize of. Yet, none of them can be compared to what I felt under those waves. I don’t know how to describe it other than “pure joy”. In fact, this is my only craving – to have more of it. As for other hobbies like women, drugs and delicacies, they no longer have any attraction to me.

In this way, the entire humanity has been enslaved by our genetically enhanced counterparts. The strange thing is we enjoy it. All we have to do is to perform the task they set for us and obey the given laws. We will be rewarded with one hour of exposure to the pleasure waves per day.

Our entire society has changed. There are no longer any vices at all because we only crave for the wave. Drugs, alcohol, prostitution and all other crimes are gone. Somehow, they have the ability to exclude selected individuals from the wave when necessary. This means anyone who were caught disobeying the rules will be excluded. When the waves were turned on, these people will not be able to feel the joy like the rest of us. This is the worst punishment one can receive. As a result, for the first time in known history, we have a perfect law abiding community.

As for me, I was appointed as their chief administrator. In other words, a collaborator or a traitor. If I find anyone who does not obey my orders, I will just click the person’s unique brainwaves into the joy wave emitter. This person will be excluded from the next emission of joy wave. So, practically no one dares to disobey me. This is a boring job and as a reward I am entitled to double the duration of pleasure wave. The only unusual thing I have to do is to command selected people to procreate in order to avoid the extinction of the species.

So, why did they enslave us for? The answer is to keep us out of their way. They are not using us to mine uranium, plant corn or work in their factories. They have more efficient machines for that. All they want is for us to mind our own business . I guess this shall be our business for the rest of our lives, keep in line to enjoy the joy wave.

Leave a Reply

