The Good Shepherd

14″I am the good shepherd; I know my sheep and my sheep know me—
15just as the Father knows me and I know the Father—and I lay down my life for the sheep.
John 10:14-15 (NIV)

It is common for Christians to acknowledge Jesus as our shepherd. Even the perverse churches that are infected by the lies of theology do that. So, the idea of having Jesus as our shepherd is not a problem among us. The main problem is the term “good” that is attached to the title “shepherd”. Jesus is not just our shepherd, he is our good shepherd. What does that mean?

In one of my articles, I have pasted a long passage on the meaning of “good” from the dictionary. I don’t think I want to do that again, as it will be a waste of space. Suffice to say that good means good. The meaning of this term in the Bible is the same as the dictionary. In other words, it means what it means.

As our good shepherd, Jesus is committed to bring us good things like good health, abundant wealth and all the success we desire. He will never do perverted things to us like giving us thorns in the flesh to show us his sufficient grace.

I suspect the main reason for many Christians who are struggling today is they do not know that Jesus is their good shepherd. They must have been deceived by the theologians like I once was. When I was in my first church, I was deceived into thinking that God is only interested in 2 things:
1. Getting me to go for missions.
2. Asking me for money.

This is why I treated God as though he is a plague. I thank God for setting me free from such lies.

We need to constantly remind ourselves that Jesus is our good shepherd and he means what he said. His priority is our benefits and welfare, not in getting us to be missionaries or ask for our money. Those preachers who used high pressure and manipulative tactics (like those my first church) to get us to go for missions or give money to the church, did not speak for God. They spoke on behalf of the demonic spirit from hell. Never trust them at all.

After telling us he is our good shepherd, Jesus continued to tell us that as his sheep, we know him. How much do we know him? Verse 15 tells us that we know Jesus as much as Jesus and the Father know each other. This means we know him very intimately.

Here is an important point to note. Jesus had never said we must get to know him. He said we know him. The second part of John 10:14 and the first part of John 10:15 are a statement of fact, not a commandment. However, I am not surprise if there are theologians who turned them into another of their theological commandment.

Some may ask, “What does that mean? What if I tell you that I don’t know Jesus even after I have become a Christian? Am I disqualified from salvation?”

The answer is, no you are still saved. Your mind may not know Jesus but your spirit does. When we first believed in Jesus, we were sealed with the Holy Spirit as a deposit to guarantee our salvation. The Holy Spirit interacts only with our spirit. So, our spirits know everything we need to know about Jesus. We only need to get our minds (meaning our souls) to get in line with our spirits. This involves listening to faith messages, reading faith literatures and thinking faith thoughts.

Once our minds know what our spirits know about Jesus, we will finally know the truth and the truth will set us free. We will know that theology is nothing but lies from the pit of hell. We will not be afraid when we hear some crackpots saying that God will judge us by sending earthquakes, tsunami, plagues, typhoon, floods, economic crisis, terrorism or any perverted things because we believe our God is not a pervert.

Don’t you think it is a good life to believe that our God is for us and not against us? This is the result of knowing the real Jesus.

Verse 15 ends with Jesus telling us that he is even willing to die for us. He did not ask for the reverse. Never trust anyone who tells you that you must die for Jesus. If death is really necessary, Jesus will do it himself.

In case there are people with suicidal thoughts reading this article, I want to remind you that if your death can solve whatever problems you are facing right now, Jesus will be willing to do that for you. In fact, Jesus had already died for you. All your problems are as good as gone when you turn to Jesus for solution. Your suicide is no longer necessary because Jesus has done it for you. Just remember, he is a good shepherd.

Leave a Reply

