The Light Of Life

12When Jesus spoke again to the people, he said, “I am the light of the world. Whoever follows me will never walk in darkness, but will have the light of life.”
John 8:12 (NIV)

In the above verse, Jesus spoke on himself being our light. As long as we choose to follow him, we will never walk in darkness because we have him as our light of life. What does that mean? I will explain the true meaning of these words in this article.

Jesus began by proclaiming himself as the light of the world. He even gave a guarantee that anyone who chose to follow him will never walk in darkness. The first thing that comes to me is the freedom to choose. You may have noticed in this verse and every where else in the Bible that Jesus had never resorted to the theologians’ way of blackmailing people into following him. In the above verse, Jesus did not promise to give darkness to those who refused to follow him. He only promised light to those who do.

So, what will happen to those who refused to follow Jesus? The answer is nothing. There is no penalty for those who choose to reject Jesus in their lives. They just will not get the benefits that come from Jesus, which is the light of life.

This is the basic foundation of Jesus’ teachings that is ignored in churches that are infested by the lies of theology. Those who are infected by the lies of theology can never understand the truth that God will never do bad things to those who choose not to believe in Jesus. They will remain where they are and continue moving on the path that they are on right now in accordance with the Newton’s First Law of Motion:

“Every object in a state of uniform motion tends to remain in that state of motion unless an external force is applied to it.”

Jesus is the external force that can change our state of motion. He does that by being our light and shows us the right way. As a result, we don’t have to grope in the dark. We can see what is ahead of us.

Please note also that even after we have chosen to have Jesus as our light of life, we are still free to make our own choices. The purpose of light is to illuminate our surroundings. Light can never force us to do anything.

I have lamps in my house. When it gets dark, I switch them on. When the light is on, I can see everything in my house. I don’t have to grope my way around and risk stumbling. Based on my experience with light, both natural and artificial, I notice one important factor. It never instructs me or forces me to do anything.

If I feel thirsty, I will go to get water to drink. The light shows me where to get water. It never instructs me to drink. I have never asked the light’s permission for anything. As far as I can remember, I have only used light as my helper to get what I want. I have never enslaved myself to it.

Jesus told me he is the light of my life. What does that mean? It works the same way with other lights that I have used. I use this light of my life to help me to get everything I want, including the politically incorrect money.

At this point, I am sure those who are infected by the lies of theology will accuse me of blasphemy. Let me share more of my “blasphemous” acts.

 When I feel thirsty, I drink water. I have never asked for God’s permission nor have I checked on whether it is doctrinally correct to drink water.

 When I feel like going to the toilet to pass motion, I go to the toilet. I have never asked for God’s permission nor have I checked on whether it is doctrinally correct to go to the toilet.

 When I am hungry, I eat. I have never asked for God’s permission nor have I checked on whether it is doctrinally correct to eat.

 When I am sick, I visit a doctor. I have never asked for God’s permission nor have I checked on whether it is doctrinally correct to visit a doctor.

 When the light bulb in my house is burnt, I change the light bulb. I have never asked for God’s permission nor have I checked on whether it is doctrinally correct to change light bulbs.

This is my question to my accusers: Have you committed the above “blasphemous” acts?

I have done many other things without asking for God’s permission nor checked whether they are doctrinally correct. However, that does not mean I am not following Jesus. I used the light of Jesus and the common sense he gave me when I make those choices. In doing so, I am living in accordance with the will of God. I am the true follower of Jesus.

This is the true meaning following Jesus. The choice to follow Jesus comes with the immediate benefit of having him as our light of life. This light shows us the truth on everything around us. When we know the truth, the truth will set us free. After we are set free, we can do anything and have everything we want. This includes the freedom to ask for politically incorrect things like health and wealth.

However, that does not mean it is wrong to ask for God’s guidance on whether certain decisions are right or wrong. It is a good practice to avoid unnecessary troubles. However, we need to understand that, God will only give us advice. He will never force us to obey his advice. It us up to us individually to decide on whether to obey or disobey him.

Welcome to Jesus’ light.

Leave a Reply

