The Lord Has Set Me Free

15 The Lord cares deeply when his loved ones die.
16 O Lord, I am your servant; yes, I am your servant, born into your household; you have freed me from my chains.
Psalm 116:15-16 (NLT)

This is another installment of my series in Psalm 116. You may have noticed that I have changed the Bible version from NIV in the previous installments to NLT in this article. The reason is, I cannot understand Verse 15 in NIV. In NIV, this verse sounds like the Lord loves to see his people die. This will make him sound like a pervert which is what the theologians are trying very hard to convince us. The truth is, God is not a pervert.

Somebody may want to ask me, “What if the theologians are right about God and you are wrong?” My answer is simple. If the theologians are right, then God must be a pervert. I have no respect for him. I will not want to be a Christian. I will still practice positive thinking and confession to get the results I want in my life. I will still move on with my life.

Let us start with Verse 15. It says the Lord cares deeply when his loved ones die. Please note that the verse does not name the Lord as the pervert who killed or caused the death of his loved ones. As humans, all of us care deeply if any of our loved ones die but that does not mean we are the murderers of our loved ones. Likewise, the Lord is not the murderer of his loved ones.

This tells us that the Lord wants us to live long lives. He wants us to live in good health, in safe environments, have a lot of money and have everything we desire as long as we are happy. When we are happy, he is happy. This is the heart of a parent.

My 4-year-old son has never bothered to ask me on what is my will for him. All he knows is to find ways to have fun. His latest initiative is to roll his toy cars down the slide. When he is happy, I as his father am happy. I will do whatever I can to ensure that he has good health and never be in lack so that he can live in joy for eternity. This means my will for my son is for him to be happy.

Let us get back to God. What is the will of God your Father for us? The answer is the same. He wants us to be happy. When we are happy, he is happy. He will do anything he can to ensure that. This includes giving us abundant prosperity in every area of our lives even including a lot of money and good health. Health and wealth may have become dirty words to the theologians but not to God.

We can hereby conclude that Verse 15 must be referring to the Lord not wanting his loved ones to die. He loves us so deeply that he wants us live long. How long should we live? As long as we want. All Christians are supposed to live long lives. The only right reason for us to die and go to heaven is when we get bored with life on earth. At that time we will just leave our old bodies and get into new ones in heaven. We do not need disease or accidents to help us to get there. Our God is not so pathetic that he needs Satan’s help to provide diseases and accidents to send us to heaven.

I remember once that a doctrine worshipper told me that diseases are the way to heaven. How perverted can they sink to?

In Verse 16, the writer acknowledged his past as being born as God’s servant. Yet God has set him free from his chains. He could choose whether to serve or not to serve God as he wanted. This is called free will. God has set us free from our bondage so that we can choose to live the life we want.

This is what Christian life is all about. We can choose to serve or not to serve God. When we choose to serve God, our decision is not made out of fear. God will never point a gun at our heads to force us to obey him. Neither will he blackmail us with perverted things like giving us some thorns in the flesh to show us his sufficient grace if we refuse to obey him.

We do not serve God because we are threatened. We serve God because we are smart. When we are serving God, we put ourselves in position to receive all the prosperity he has for us. So, if you want to live long life, have good health, a lot of money and prosper in every area in your life, put yourself in position to receive them. Serve God.

Heretics like the theologians and doctrine worshippers may ask, “How can you serve God for prosperity?” My answer, because I want to. The Lord has set me free from chains so that I can decide what I want. I choose to cherish my freedom and exercise it. I will never allow those heretics from robbing me of what God has given to me.

Leave a Reply

