Reason For Loving The Lord

1 I love the LORD, for he heard my voice; he heard my cry for mercy.
2 Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.
Psalm 116:1-2 (NIV)

I am starting a series in Psalm 116. I am sure the title of this post will be offensive to the theologians and doctrine worshippers. After all, are we not supposed to love God unconditionally? How can we love him for any reason?

If you have been reading the posts in this blog for some time, I believe you should have realized by now that unlike the theologians and doctrine worshippers, I am not a hypocrite. I write what I truly believe in and I am not under the obligation of abiding to political correctness. The opinions of those heretics are irrelevant to the truth. I have no intention of pleasing them.

Let me begin by telling you the history of my relationship with the Lord. Before I was a Christian, the Lord was just one of the many dieties promoted by religions. When I became a Christian in my first church, I started off with a good impression on him. How not to have a good impression on a God who give his Son for my sins?

However, after attending several sermons, my impression on the Lord became bad. The corrupt pastors in that church created the impression that the Lord is only interested in me going for missions and giving money to the church. Everything else is not important to him. He has no intention to deliver me from my troubles, give me a lot of money, gives me good health and success in every area of my life. In fact, sometimes he can even do perverted things to people to show them his “sufficient grace”. In short, I thought of the Lord as the pervert of the lowest order. All thanks to the sermons I received from a theological and doctrinally correct church.

It was only after I came across New Creation Church that I was set free. I began to realize that not only is the Lord not a pervert, he is a kind and loving person. I am his top priority. His desire is for me to be always rich, healthy and be successful in every area of my life. His love for me will never change even if I refuse to go for missions or give money to the church.

For your information, I have never go for missions in my life and since I left my first church I have never given a single cent to any church. The closest thing I have done is to tithe and sow for my own prosperity. It has never been my concern whether any church has enough money to pay their pastors. If any church does not have enough money to the extend of having to manipulate its members, this tells me that the “God” of this church is hopeless. I am not interested in worshipping a hopeless “God”.

Do I love the Lord? I love him because he is willing to help me to get everything I want. He is always on my side to deliver me from all my troubles and blessed me with every spiritual blessing in the spiritual realm. Having a lot of money, good health, strong family and all success are among the “every spiritual blessing in the spiritual realm.”

This is the reason and the condition for my love to the Lord. It may not go well with the heretics like the theologians and doctrine worshippers but who cares? This is the truth. I am not ashamed to tell the truth as it is.

So, what is the Bible’s view of such a conditional love? Psalm 116:1 seems to say that it was a common practice at that time. The writer tell us that he love the Lord because the Lord heard his voice and cry for mercy. So there were some conditions there too.

What can we learn here?

First the Lord is not a pervert. Psalm 116:1 does not say “I love the LORD, for he did perverted things to me to show me his sufficient grace.” This tells us the writer did not see the Lord as a sadist.

Secondly, he was not ashamed to reveal the real reason for his love of the Lord. He loved the Lord because the Lord always heard his prayer. What do you think will happen after the Lord heard our prayers? He acts on it. If you have read the Bible you will realize that the Lord is a very action oriented person. He will not just send his condolence after you tell him his problems. He always takes action to deliver us from all our troubles.

19 A righteous man may have many troubles, but the LORD delivers him from them all;
Psalm 34:19 (NIV)

Let me simplify the above sequence here:
1. When I am in trouble, I call on the Lord.
2. When I call on the Lord, he hears me.
3. When he hears me, he always delivers me.

This is the truth that no theologian can understand. Yet it works. The writer of Psalm 116 must have comprehended this truth or he would not have been encouraged to keep seeking the Lord.

2 Because he turned his ear to me, I will call on him as long as I live.
Psalm 116:2 (NIV)

He had decided to call on the Lord as long as he lived. Smart move. In fact I think this is simple common sense. Since the Lord has declared that he always hear our prayers, deliver us from all our troubles and give us everything we ask for, don’t you think that is simple common sense to seek him as often as we can? This is what the writer was committed to do. So, it is not necessary to blackmail people to pray and seek the Lord. The truth would suffice.

Leave a Reply

