Your Grief Will Suddenly Turn To Wonderful Joy

20 I tell you the truth, you will weep and mourn over what is going to happen to me, but the world will rejoice. You will grieve, but your grief will suddenly turn to wonderful joy.
21 It will be like a woman suffering the pains of labor. When her child is born, her anguish gives way to joy because she has brought a new baby into the world.
22 So you have sorrow now, but I will see you again; then you will rejoice, and no one can rob you of that joy.
23 At that time you won’t need to ask me for anything. I tell you the truth, you will ask the Father directly, and he will grant your request because you use my name.
24 You haven’t done this before. Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and you will have abundant joy.
John 16:20-24 (NLT)

We have come to the next part of Jesus’ farewell message. Here is the bad news. The disciples were going to weep and mourn while the world was going to rejoice when Jesus faced the Cross. That certainly sounds bad.

Jesus compared this with a woman suffering the pains of labor. Those pains are real but they don’t last forever. Once the baby is born her anguish gives way to joy because she has brought a new baby into the world. This means that the sorrows of the disciples would not last for long. Their sorrows would turn into joy soon.

There are sorrows in this world. There are still many things that do not work in the way we want them to work. When we have setbacks in our lives, it is easy to feel sorrow. However, Jesus has promised that he will turn them to joy.

22 So you have sorrow now, but I will see you again; then you will rejoice, and no one can rob you of that joy.
John 16:22 (NLT)

The joy that Jesus gives us is everlasting. No one can take them away from us. What type of joy is this. The next 2 verses will explain in detail on this joy.

Now, if I am to stop here with the promise of joy from Jesus, I will not incur the wrath of the theologians. After all, I only mentioned joy. Joy is not health and wealth. So, it is not a dirty word to them. The word “joy” by itself can be quite subjective. It cannot be proven right or wrong. It can be easily faked. No wonder the theologians are quite tolerant to this word. They will never accuse you as a joy preacher for preaching joy.

Unfortunately for them, I am not going to stop here. I am moving on to the next 2 verses that must be among the most hated verse by the theologians. Here we go.

23 At that time you won’t need to ask me for anything. I tell you the truth, you will ask the Father directly, and he will grant your request because you use my name.
24 You haven’t done this before. Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and you will have abundant joy.
John 16:23-24 (NLT)

This is another truth that the theologians cannot stand. So, the joy that was promised by Jesus refers to us getting everything we want from God. Jesus promised us that we can ask the Father directly on anything we want in his name and we will get them. Shocking? That is the truth.

I want to analyze deeper into these 2 verses. First, it implies that we Christians have the right to choose and decide on what we want. There is no limitation on what we want. Jesus never said we can ask for everything except health and wealth. We have the freedom to choose and to decide what we want. So, do be shy. We do not need to ask permission from anyone especially the theologians or the doctrine worshippers. What do you want? Do you want a lot of money? Ask God for a lot of money to come to your life. Do want to have good health? Ask God to give you good health. Do you want to have a mate in life? Ask God to give you one. There is no limit on what we can ask.

I remember once I shared that I want to be rich to help the poor. Some people questioned my intention and wondered whether my real intention is to live like a king. My reply is so what? Why can’t I want to live like a king? The Bible never says I cannot live like a king. If I want to live like a king, all I have to do is to ask the Father in Jesus’ name and he will grant my request. I don’t have to use helping to poor as an excuse to be rich.

We Christians are not drones. Being Christians does not mean we have lost our individuality and have no more personal desires. We still have our own desires. I love Star Trek. In Star Trek, there is a race known as the Borg. The Borg consist of billions of people of various species who have linked their minds into one big collective mind. This big collective mind controls every individual of the race. Each person is just like a body part to the collective whole. They have no individuality and no personal desires. Their only greeting message is “We are the Borgs. Resistance is futile. You will be assimilated.”

We Christians are not like that. We have our desires and no one has the right to tell us what we can or cannot think and want. What do you want? What do you like? What are your desires? You have the full right to decide on them.

Secondly, we use Jesus’ name in our prayer requests. This is like putting Jesus’ signature into our prayers. When God the Father receives our prayers, he will see Jesus’ name on it. Our prayers is Jesus’ prayers. Do you think the Father will ever say no to Jesus’ prayers? If he does, the whole Trinity will collapse. This means God can never say “no” to any of our prayers.

You can never find anywhere in the Bible on God saying “no” to a Christian’s prayers. God’s answer to our prayers is always “yes”. This should give us confidence that our God will always give us what we want. So, ask God for anything you want in Jesus’ name and you will surely get them.

How about Christians who ask and don’t receive? My answer is I don’t know. As far as I am concern, I will make use of this truth to get what I want in life. I am not going to ask God only after every Christian on earth has successfully received what they ask God for in prayers. I am not interested to be the last Christian to be rich.

In Verse 24, Jesus encouraged his disciples to ask God for everything they want and he told them the reason behind God’s generosity.

24 You haven’t done this before. Ask, using my name, and you will receive, and you will have abundant joy.
John 16:24 (NLT)

He wants them to have abundant of joy. This tells us what is God’s highest priority for us. He wants us to have abundant joy. When I was in my religious church, I thought God’s highest priority for me is for me to go for mission and give money to the church. The above verse tells me otherwise.

God wants us to be joyful. If you want God to be happy, be happy yourself. When you are happy, he is happy. When you pray, ask God for things that will make you happy. As you do, visualize yourself living in the life when you have what you ask for. Feel the joy within you. You will have what you want.

4 Responses to “Your Grief Will Suddenly Turn To Wonderful Joy”

  1. kingdomkeysbooks Says:

    Hello again, i couldn’t help reading your latest post and, of course, commenting on it. Again I have to say that you are so close to having this message down, except for on little error.
    You wrote: “You can never find anywhere in the Bible on God saying “no” to a Christian’s prayers. God’s answer to our prayers is always “yes”. This should give us confidence that our God will always give us what we want. So, ask God for anything you want in Jesus’ name and you will surely get them.

    How about Christians who ask and don’t receive? My answer is I don’t know. As far as I am concern, I will make use of this truth to get what I want in life. I am not going to ask God only after every Christian on earth has successfully received what they ask God for in prayers. I am not interested to be the last Christian to be rich. This is a very dangerous place to reside. i am not going to argue this point with you, I will let God do it instead. Read James chapter 4. I am going to give you one verse to whet your whistle- 4:3- And even when you do ask, you don’t get it because your whole motive is wrong–you want only what will give you pleasure. ” NLT There it is. This is not from some “theologin” trying to get your money or allegience, it is from James, the brother of Jesus, pastor of the church in Jerusalem. I know that you are trying to do your best hrer, just don’t fall short of the truth in doing so.
    God Bless, Glenn Smith Jr, (again)

  2. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    The answer is simple. Get your motive right. God wants to give you what you want. Your wrong motives is blocking you. So, the solution is correct your motives until you get what you want.

    If your light bulb is burnt, change it. Don’t give up on electricity just because a light bulb fails to light up.

  3. kingdomkeysbooks Says:

    Thank you, that has been my point all along. If we have selfish motives and are not in the will of God, we cannot simply expect God to be santa claus and just give us what ever we want. I do fully agree with your stand that , through Jesus, all things are available to us. i am a serious believer in faith. i have far to often seen people get caught up in a process of seeking God for things while not being willing to be a doer of the Word. The biggest danger in with self motivation is that it can easily become witchcraft. I am confident that as you continue to seek god’s will through His word, your understanding will grow. I hope that you see your gaols and dreams realized.
    God Bless, Glenn

  4. Manie Says:

    Again GREAT WORD. You said it perfectly when you said YOU DECIDE? Only God and I know my motives for wanting what I want.
    Is a wrong motive for me to ask God for wealth because I want a BIG HOUSE or a LUXURY CAR?
    Or maybe its a wrong motive to want a BIG HOUSE so I can steal from retailers and hord the merchandise there?
    Maybe I want a mate in order to give and receive natural love here on earth…
    Or maybe I want a mate because I am lonely, needy and hurting and I am looking for a person to DO what only God can do…
    The KEY to receivng is ASKING. If you think your motives are wrong then you won’t ask.
    I love Jesus with all my heart, my soul and my body. There was a point when all I wanted was freedom from depression. It was there that God met my request but He didn’t just leave me. The MORE I learned of HIM and HIS NATURE the more I saw that He wanted to give to me. Thank you and please KEEP giving to US what the Holy Spirit shares with you. Manie


Leave a Reply

