Your Anger Can Send You To Hell

21 “You have heard that our ancestors were told, ‘You must not murder. If you commit murder, you are subject to judgment.’
22 But I say, if you are even angry with someone, you are subject to judgment! If you call someone an idiot, you are in danger of being brought before the court. And if you curse someone, you are in danger of the fires of hell.
Matthew 5:21-22 (NLT)

I suspect the above to another favorite passage to quote when the theologians want to convince us that we can go to hell even after we became Christians. As I have mentioned in earlier articles, religious churches have 2 different layers of the Gospel. The first layer is the evangelistic version that tells people that the moment they believed in Jesus, they are saved. They will go to heaven when they die.

This layer is strictly for non-Christians. Once you are a Christian, this layer is not applicable anymore. You have to obey everything that is written in the Bible. If you don’t, you will go to hell. Even Jesus cannot help you if you don’t obey him.

The above verses are among the rules you have to obey if you do not want to go to hell. You must not commit murder. The term “murder” is not limited to the physical act alone. If you are angry with someone or curse somebody, you will burn in hell regardless of your faith in Jesus. Are the theologians right? We shall look further in this article.

First of all, if the theologians are right, they will be the first ones who will burn in hell. They are the ones guilty of murders, both physically (think of the Inquisitors and Crusaders) and spiritually. Today, theologians are no longer committing physical murders because they do not have the powers they used to have but they are still committing spiritual murders through their angry slanders and condemnations on Christians who choose to obey God instead of theology. Therefore, if murder (physical and spiritual) can send people to hell, theologians will be there.

What does Jesus really means by his words in the above passage? He said that if we entertain angry thoughts in our minds on other people, we will be subjected to judgement, be brought before the court and are in danger of the fires of hell. Does that sound scary? However, that is not the full story. The full story is, when Jesus said those words, he had not died at the Cross. The people at that time did not have a Savior who paid for their sins. They had to bear the consequences of their own sins. So, they commit murders (physical and spiritual), they will be subjected to judgement, be brought before the court and are in danger of the fires of hell.

The good news is, Jesus’ works at the Cross, has changed everything. If we happen to commit the sin of murder, we must always remember that Jesus had paid for this sin at the Cross. Jesus had been “subjected to judgement, brought before the court and was in danger of the fires of hell” on our behalf. Therefore, Christians will not go to hell for murdering. This is the Gospel of Jesus Christ.

I hope I don’t have to elaborate that if you commit physical murder, the law in your country will get you. Jesus’ works at the Cross, is not recognized by the legal system in our respective countries.

So far so good but does this mean that Christians can commit spiritual murders as we please? The truth is no one can stop us from hating anyone but if we want to receive the abundant prosperity from God, we will not want to do that. Why not? Hate is a poison to our souls. It blocks our faith, which will in turn choke the flow of our prosperity. So, if you want to be rich, do not hate and if you want to be poor, hate as much as you can.

When we commit spiritual murders or hate someone, we will be focusing our thoughts and attention to the person who we hate. In doing so, we are not focusing on our faith for our prosperity. We are effectively sacrificing our prosperity for the sake of the people we don’t like. Isn’t that a dumb thing to do? Will you do that? I won’t. As for me, I am committed to allocate as much thinking time as I can on using my faith for my prosperity because I want to receive exceeding and abundant prosperity from God. Spiritual murders or hating people will reduce the thinking time I want to use for my prosperity and will result in the reduction to the exceeding and abundant prosperity that I will receive. I am not stupid.

So, if anyone is to offend me, I will forgive this person immediately. This means I will not waste my valuable thinking time on this person anymore. When I say “I forgive you.” my underlying message is “You are not worth my hate.”

Of course, forgiveness does not mean I will not take any action at all. If you try to steal from me or harm my family, I will take legal action on you. I will demand you to compensate me on all the losses you have caused plus interest but I will not do it with hate in my heart. I forgive you but I will still demand compensation (with a loving heart).

The above is an illustration on how Christians should live.

4 Responses to “Your Anger Can Send You To Hell”

  1. America The Beautiful by Ray Charles & Alicia Keys Friday, July 4, 2008 « (Salvation) Cafe Sozo Says:

    […] ARTICLE OF INTEREST:  YOUR ANGER CAN SEND YOU TO HELL ▶ Comment /* 0) { jQuery(‘#comments’).show(”, change_location()); jQuery(‘#showcomments a .closed’).css(‘display’, ‘none’); jQuery(‘#showcomments a .open’).css(‘display’, ‘inline’); return true; } else { jQuery(‘#comments’).hide(”); jQuery(‘#showcomments a .closed’).css(‘display’, ‘inline’); jQuery(‘#showcomments a .open’).css(‘display’, ‘none’); return false; } } jQuery(‘#showcomments a’).click(function(){ if(jQuery(‘#comments’).css(‘display’) == ‘none’) { self.location.href = ‘#comments’; check_location(); } else { check_location(‘hide’); } }); function change_location() { self.location.href = ‘#comments’; } }); /* ]]> */ […]

  2. Vinita Says:

    I see you are seriously angry with theologians. Anyway, thanks for the inspiring post. Not just theologians, but any Christians who’s unable to love and forgive are in danger of that dreadful place. This real stresses on my need to love and forgive.

  3. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    Read the article again. Your inability to love and forgive can never send you to hell.

  4. leegalang Says:

    Stumbled upon your article and spoke to my heart in regards to my current situation. I work with cold-hearted people with harsh tongues, even those who are self-proclaimed Christians. As a Christians, would it be prudent to correct others for their rudeness and disrespect on the spot or simply bite my tongue and leave to The Lord in prayer. I don’t want to appear angry or ungodly by the confrontation, or even push them away, but at the same time I don’t want to be a push over or a door mat thinking that I can trampled on. How do I approach this? Any advice?


Leave a Reply

