God Will Deliver You And Honor You

15 He shall call upon Me, and I will answer him; I will be with him in trouble; I will deliver him and honor him.
16 With long life I will satisfy him, And show him My salvation.”
Psalm 91:15-16(NKJV)

We have come to the end of my Psalm 91 series. Before I continue with the lessons, I would like to thank my theologian guests for actively promoting this blog and contributed your valuable ideas here. (My personal favorite is the one who prays for God to give him sickness and poverty.) Your active participation and promotion is greatly appreciated.

However, I would like to make it clear that my target audience is real Christians who live in the real world, facing real problems and want real solutions for their problems. This is my intention all along. I want to sow seeds of faith and hope into your hearts in order to help you to overcome your problems and achieve prosperity in every area of your life. In return, I expect this seed to yield a huge harvest for myself. I am expecting to get very rich out of this.

I suspect many have not noticed that I have added in a new free ebook in my blogroll. It is a classic book entitled “The Science Of Getting Rich” and it was first published in 1910. I am so impressed by it that I have even bought a hard copy from the bookshop and carry it around everywhere I go so that I can read it repeatedly until it becomes a part of me. If you are truly interested in getting rich, I suggest you to download the book and read it yourself. Your life will never be the same again.

Let us get back to the verses. Psalm 91 ends with a bang. The last 2 verses give us the steps on what to do when we face problems in our lives. It begins with us calling upon the Lord. Whatever problems you are facing right now, you need to call upon the Lord because he has all the answers.

Please note that calling upon the Lord is not begging him for help. When you beg someone for help, you are not really sure whether this person is willing to help you. Based on the overall context of this psalm, we call with confident expectation that God will come to deliver us. In other words, calling upon the Lord is an act of faith. We believe that our God is able and willing to come to help us. Our deliverance is a certainty regardless on how impossible our situation appears to be.

What will happen when we call upon the Lord? The subsequent part says he will answer us. Even theologians have no problem to this part. However this is where they sneak in their theology. Theologians tell us that sometimes God can answer our prayers with a “no”. Are they right? Can God say “no” when we call upon him to deliver us? Think about this. If “no” can be an answer from God, then anyone can be God.

I can be God too. Pray to me and ask me for anything. I will answer your prayers with a “no” unless you ask me trick questions. If you dare to ask me trick questions, I can always threaten to give you “the grace and mercy to share in the suffering of Christ”, which means I will do perverted things on you.

So, it is clear that when God answers us, it is always “yes”. God is on our side. After he answered us, he will be with us in trouble. We will never be alone in our struggles. As Christians, this truth should not be a surprise anymore because the moment we believed in Jesus, we are sealed with the Holy Spirit. This means God is always with us. He will never leave us no matter what happens.

So far so good but that is not the answer we want when we have problems, do we? We want solutions. The next part says: “I will deliver him and honor him.” God will deliver us when we call on him. I have written on God’s deliverance in my previous article and I do not wish to repeat those. You can click on the previous article if you want to know more. I shall zoom into the honoring part.

God promised to deliver and honor us at the same time. What does that mean? Imagine yourself as a US soldier serving in Iraq. When your team was doing a routine patrol, you were ambushed by the Iraqi rebels. All your team members except you were killed. You were the only one fighting back but you were outgunned and outnumbered. When God delivers you, it means you are able to stay alive until you are able to make it back safely to your camp. When God honors you, you become a war hero out of this event. You will get a medal and a promotion. In today’s scenario, you will even be courted by TV networks and publishers who offer you millions of dollars for the exclusive of your story. In short, you ended up better off than before the problem began.

This is God’s will for us when he delivers us. He always over-delivers. We will end up better off than before that problem begins. So, if you are facing a big problem now, rejoice because when God delivers you, he will honor you with bigger things. You will be better off than the time before that problem appears. The only thing you should always remember is never give up.

The last verse is the bonus for calling upon the Lord. He will satisfy us with long life. How long is long? The verse says it is to our satisfaction. How long are you satisfied with? If you are satisfied with living up to 100 years, God will give you 100 years of life on earth. If you are satisfied with living up to 1,000 years, God will give you 1,000 years of life on earth. They keyword here is: your satisfaction.

In case someone wants to ask, “How about Christians who died young?” Please refer to my previous articles on this psalm. I just cannot keep repeating.

Next, God promised to show us his salvation. The magic word here is “show”. As Christians we are all saved. We will go to heaven when we die. Nothing can change this truth. However, salvation is more than just going to heaven after we die. There is a lot more benefits, which include health and wealth on earth. God will show us all these and teach us how to get them.

God is good.

3 Responses to “God Will Deliver You And Honor You”

  1. Greg White Says:

    I like the article and I agree with most of whats said, but 1000 years , How could that be when he only give us 120 years. I really like what you are saying, it takes guts to say some of the things you say but I can attest that it is so true.

  2. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    There are people who has broken the 120 years barrier.

  3. Jeanie Rose Says:

    “God always over-delivers!”
    Psalm 91 is all about the immense, over-delivering love of God expressed on our behalf. Spending a few minutes a day with this Psalm will change your life.
    Thank you for your investment of time and passion on this issue!


Leave a Reply

