A Thousand May Fall At Your Side

5 You shall not be afraid of the terror by night, Nor of the arrow that flies by day,
6 Nor of the pestilence that walks in darkness, Nor of the destruction that lays waste at noonday.
7 A thousand may fall at your side, And ten thousand at your right hand; But it shall not come near you.
8 Only with your eyes shall you look, And see the reward of the wicked.
Psalm 91:5-8 (NKJV)

Welcome to my series in Psalm 91. This time, I am doing 4 verses in a row because I want a good ending in all my articles.

In the previous verse, we learn that God’s truth will protect us. Have you ever wonder would God give us such assurance? Obviously, he thinks it is necessary. The only reason why he thinks it is necessary is because we are living in a dangerous world. We will face troubles from day to day. This is the real world. We may not be of the world but we are definitely in the world. This world has a lot of problems.

In Verse 5, God wants us not to be afraid when we face troubles in our lives. He has even categorized the troubles that Satan can throw at us. Please note that God is only telling us about the troubles. He is not promising that he will give us those problems. The most profound nature of God, which no theologian can ever comprehend is this: God is not a pervert. Telling about future problems is not promising to create them.

Let us look into the type of problems we might face.

Terror by night.
In those days, they did not have electricity. They did not have nightlife. Night was the time to sleep. Terrors that happen at night must be very shocking. You wake up suddenly in the middle of the night into total chaos. You do not know what to do or where to run to. Most people will respond in panic. How should we respond? You will find out soon.

Arrow that flies by day.
Today’s equivalent are bullets and bombs. If night was the time to sleep, day must be the time to work. You have been minding your own business and work for a living. Suddenly, your workplace turns into a war zone. All the things that bring you security are now gone. Your company is gone, you lost contact with your family members and you may even see some of your friends died. What are you going to do? Read on.

Pestilence that walks in darkness
This is a plague, a wide spread disease. The term “darkness” here means we cannot see the virus that causes it. The air may be filled with these viruses. All you can see is people getting sick around you. Sounds like a Hollywood thriller? It can be real. Read on.

Destruction that lays waste at noonday.
This must be the mother of all calamities. Not only will there be people getting sick and die, all physical structures like buildings, farms, roads and bridges are destroyed. This could be due to natural disaster or a deliberate act of war. What are you going to do?

I have given you a brief introduction of the bad things that can happen. I have made it very brief because God’s intention is not to intimidate us. He wants to prepare us should the worst case scenario happens. He wants us not to be afraid when bad things happen around us. Why not? Verse 7 tells us the answer.

7 A thousand may fall at your side, And ten thousand at your right hand; But it shall not come near you.
Psalm 91:7 (NKJV)

When disasters happen, we can see a thousand falling at our side and even ten thousand at our right hand but (this is a very important “but”) this disaster shall not come near us. God said this with his integrity at stake. God is not a theologian. So he has integrity.

What must we do to enjoy such a privilege? The answer lies in the first 2 verses.

1 He who dwells in the secret place of the Most High Shall abide under the shadow of the Almighty.
2 I will say of the LORD, “He is my refuge and my fortress; My God, in Him I will trust.”
Psalm 91:1-2 (NKJV)

We need to have a lifestyle of putting our trust in God and confess his goodness. Once we are able to that, we will not only be able to withstand but even triumph over the worst case scenarios. No matter how bad the situation looks like, we are destined to win. God said it shall not come near you.

 The terror by night shall not come near you.
 The arrow that flies by day shall not come near you.
 The pestilence that walks in darkness shall not come near you.
 The destruction that lays waste at noonday shall not come near you.

Please note that God did not say they will not happen. These disasters can happen but God has given his guarantee that they will not come near you. The only conditions you need to fulfill are to obey the first 2 verses in this psalm.

Since I have been under the teachings of theologians in my previous religious church, I know what the theologians and other carnal minded Christians are thinking. “What about other godly, good, kind and well-intentioned Christians who are suffering in the world right now?”

My answer is I don’t know. I do not have all the facts to make any good judgement. All I know is my God is faithful. As long as I put my trust and hope in him, he will help me to overcome every trouble that comes my way and prosper me beyond my wildest dreams. However, if I am to focus on the plight of those godly, good, kind and well-intentioned Christians who are suffering, I will never be able to overcome my troubles, let alone prospering beyond my wildest dreams. Anyway, I will not be able to help them if I do not have the means to do so.

Verse 8 tells us the opposite will happen to the wicked. We can even look to see their reward. So, do not allow yourself to be affected by the wicked. In this blog I allow free access for anyone to comment even if there are people who abuse it. Satan has sent his drones to hurl abuses to be. I am accused of many things. One drone even told that I should not be a Christian as though I have to ask for his permission.

You know what? It does not bother me at all. These abuses are the clearest proof that Satan must be shaking in his boots (assuming he wears one) when he sees the result of this blog. As for those wicked drones who had written those abuses, they will have their just rewards. God has guaranteed that I can see them receiving their just rewards.

The lesson for us here is do not be faint hearted when people persecute you, insult and mock you for your faith. We must always remember that He who is in us is greater than he who is in the world. When you face troubles, it is your faith that can help you. Those wicked people will not even lift a finger to help. So, why would you want to please them at all? Our focus must be on God, in particular fulfilling the conditions in Verse 1 and 2 in Psalm 91.

Once we have done that, God will help us to triumph over every trouble.

Leave a Reply

