You Will Always Be On Top

13 If you listen to these commands of the Lord your God that I am giving you today, and if you carefully obey them, the Lord will make you the head and not the tail, and you will always be on top and never at the bottom.
Deuteronomy 28:13 (NLT)

In this article, we shall look into one part of God’s blessings for us. Deuteronomy 28:1-13 gives us a detailed definition on God’s blessings for us. As I have shared before, there was a religious person who wrote in to tell me that he lives in a country where the average income is $1 a day and he claimed to be more blessed than the people in Singapore. Obviously he did not realize that Deuteronomy 28:1-13 does not consider earning $1 a day as a blessing from God. I suggest you read through the 13 verses to fully grasp the full extent of God’s blessings.

I shall focus on Verse 13. If we choose to obey God and follow his path, he will make us the head and not the tail and we will always be on top and never at the bottom. God wants us to be at the top. It is our destiny as Christians to be the head at the top. Religious people will tell us that it is alright to be at the bottom because God can still use you but not God. It is the will of God for us to be the top.

What does this mean to us? To put it simply, we are to be the best in whatever we do. We should never settle for just being average. We are supposed to excel in our fields. God wants us to have the drive to move forward, to keep improving and be the best. He wants us to be the head and not the tail.

How are we going to do it? According to the above verse, we are to obey him. According to the above verse, our obedience to God will cause us to be the head and not the tail. This tells us that the entire Bible (which is the Word Of God) was written for us to excel and be the best in whatever we do. God gave us the Bible for our improvements. It is meant for our self-improvements.

So, how are we going to improve ourselves based on God’s will? The following are my suggestions.

We need to have the desire for success.
There is no use in wanting to learn to be successful if you have no desire for it. If you believe it is alright to be poor because God can still use the poor, you will never want to be rich. As a result you will never be rich.

So, having the desire for success in our hearts is the first step. This desire will give us the drive to take actions towards our goals and persevere in the event we face any obstacles. God will never impose such desires on us. We have to decide for ourselves we want this desire.

What is your choice today? Do you desire to be successful? Please note that desire is not daydreaming. It means you must have the determination to work hard and press forward against every challenge and obstacle that is in your path. When you face difficulties, you will not give up and say it is God’s will for you to fail. According to Deuteronomy 28:13, God wants you to be the head. No matter what battles you must fight, God had decreed that you will win. We are called to battle and destined to win.

We need to read and obey God’s words in the Bible.
The Bible was written for our success. If you read any self-help book, I am sure you will find some Bible principles there. There are many people who are not Christians and are very successful because they used principles like positive thinking, positive confession, determination, visualization, perseverance, sowing and other principles from the Bible.

If non-Christians can achieve success from using Bible principles, why not us Christians? It is time for us to take God’s words seriously and obey them. The Bible is an engineering book. It has nothing to do with theology. Unfortunately many Christians have been deceived by Satan into thinking the Bible as a theology book and trapped into the bondage of religion.

If we want to be successful, we must think like God. God is an engineer, not a theologian. We need to read the Bible, believe in it and obey what it says. Only then are we able to achieve success.

The desire for success must be a continuous discipline.
It is not something you talk about once a while. It must be always on your mind. When you read the Bible, read it with the desire for success. When you go to work, find ways to improve you job and productivity. When you read the newspaper on a particular trend of the society, try to think of how you are going to capitalize on it.

Let me share from my own experience.

In my last sharing, I have told you on how I had become a project manager in the construction of a factory complex. However, a few weeks ago, my boss in his infinite wisdom had decided to transfer me to be the resident engineer in the development of a luxurious condominium. He asked me whether I was willing to comply with the transfer. At that time my first question was on whether it will result in any reduction in my salary. His answer was no. I will be paid the same. So, I submitted to his decision.

Now that I am no longer a project manager, my ambition to be the Peter Drucker of the construction sector is effectively over. However this does not mean I can never be the head. There are several areas I am focusing on.

First, I aim to be the best resident engineer in the development of luxurious housing. In this project, I will supervise the entire process from the foundation all the way through the finishes. The units are priced at millions of dollars. So the standards must be extremely high. I am going to develop comprehensive documentations and records on the entire process. I will attempt to publish a book at the end of this project which will establish me as the authority in the supervision of high end developments. I want to be among the top professionals in this area.

Secondly, I want to develop a low risk and high return investment system. If you have noticed, I have another blog on stock analysis. My plan is to identify undervalued companies with strong fundamentals. Then I will sell put options on them. I am aiming for a monthly return of between 3-5% from this scheme. Right now, I am doing dry run on it. When it is ready, I will have a sustainable money making system at my disposal. I can even set up a fund.

Thirdly, I am working on my currency trading system. I have worked out my risk management, process for placing positions, stop loss and profit limit. I will have between one to three trades per week. I am expecting fluctuations but overall return is between 10%-20% a month. I can even develop this into a hedge fund.

That is all I have to share on my vision for success. You have to work out yours if you want to be successful as well.

Leave a Reply

