Praying In Tongues

26 And the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. For example, we don’t know what God wants us to pray for. But the Holy Spirit prays for us with groanings that cannot be expressed in words.
Romans 8:26 (NLT)

This is another topic that religious churches are willing to destroy at all cost – Praying In Tongues. The truth that the Bible supports praying in Tongues makes no difference to them. In their mind, if you speak in Tongues, you are worshipping Satan. You will go to hell. Such intense hatred for Tongues by the religious people tells me that Satan must be very terrified of it. Anything that terrifies Satan must also be very useful for our prosperity and I intend to study further on it. I invite you to join me in this journey.

There is a history on Tongues in the book of Acts but I am not going through it as I am only interested in the application at this moment. The above verse tells us on the benefits of praying in Tongues. Let us begin.

The first part says the Holy Spirit helps us in our weakness. It continues from the previous verse on the need of patience and confidence in hoping for our glorious future. Unfortunately, life is not that simple. We have obstacles along the way and some of them come from our own weakness. I don’t think I have to convince you that all of us have weakness. We need to overcome them. However, sometimes we may find ourselves to be too weak to carry on. What will you do when you find your faith weakening and you are beginning to crumble under pressure?

The above verse tells us that the Holy Spirit is always around to help us in our weakness. This is his sole purpose for dwelling inside us. He does not dwell in us because he cannot find other place to live. Neither is he here to serve as God’s watchdog. The Holy Spirit is here to help us. He is our friend.

The subsequent part of the verse gives an example on how the Holy Spirit helps us. We may be in a situation where we are so distressed that we don’t know what to pray. We may be in distress and confused but the Holy Spirit is still strong. He is able to help us to pray with groanings that cannot be expressed in words. It means Tongues. When we pray in Tongues, we allow the Holy Spirit to pray through us. In doing so, we will still be able to receive the benefits of prayers despite our inability to pray.

At this point, I am sure there are many questions on Tongues and I will try to address them in the following part of this article.

Praying in Tongues is not possession.
When I pray in Tongues, I do not lose control of my body. I have the freedom to start, stop and restart, increase and decrease volume or even follow a tune. I can pray like I am singing a song. There were times where my wife told me to stop making fun of God when my Tongues got too dramatic. I guess she is used to it now, so is God. So it is not the Holy Spirit version on demon possession.

Difference between Tongues and conventional prayers.
Conventional prayers rely heavily on our minds. You need to be able to think clear, specify your objectives before you can pray. However, if you happen to be in an extreme situation that you have no time to be calm, Tongues will be very useful.

Why must God used me to pray to God?
I used to think it is silly for the Holy Spirit to pray through me. Why can’t he just talk directly to God the Father? Since when have I become the middle man between them? The answer is God respects our freedom. He wants us to have choices whether to accept or reject his help. When the Holy Spirit prays through us, he does not bypass us. He is still in contact with our spirits. He knows what our spirits want and prays accordingly. So, he is not exactly bypassing us in Tongues. Our minds may be bypassed but not our spirits.

Final note. The Holy Spirit is not a pervert. He will not use Tongues to pray for you to be poor and sick. So don’t worry of him sabotaging you in Tongues. Start praying in Tongues for your prosperity.

2 Responses to “Praying In Tongues”

  1. moserw Says:

    Really good stuff and very good that you are sharing. We need such teaching today since so many people have such wrong misconceptions. I too am a firm believer in praying in tongues and do it everyday.

  2. cheee Says:

    Thank you.


Leave a Reply

