Hope

24 We were given this hope when we were saved. (If we already have something, we don’t need to hope for it.
25 But if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently.)
Romans 8:24-25 (NLT)

In this article, we continue with the study of Romans 8 series. We have reached Verse 24-25. These verses are on the topic of hope. According to the above verses, we have been given this hope when we were saved. So what is “this hope” in this verse? Based on what we have learned in the earlier verses, it must be the hope of a glorious future.

When we hope for something, we look forward in positive expectation. The things we hope for would not have arrived or our hopes will be fulfilled. Verse 25 tells us that if we look forward to something we don’t yet have, we must wait patiently and confidently. Patience and confidence are necessary components for our hopes. We can never hope for things if we have no patience and confidence.

Let us look at some practical applications for hope. What are you hoping for? We need a target to hope for. You cannot possibly go on a journey without knowing your destination. What is in your heart? What do you like to do? What are your ambitions? What are your desires? You need to be true to yourself in identifying the above and don’t ever allow yourself to be affected by the world, especially religious people.

I remember sharing that I hope to be rich to help the poor. Those religious people responded by questioning my beliefs and motives in their efforts to discourage me. They had even came up with phases like “God can use the poor”, as though God cannot use the rich. Why do you think these people were so determined to stop me from getting rich? What benefits would they get if I am to give up my faith? The answer is nothing. They could not have benefited personally if I am to give up my faith and allow myself to be oppressed under the bondage of their religion. The only reason why they did what they did is because they were working under the influence of Satan.

Satan and religious people have been working together to make us give up our faith and hopes. So, don’t be surprised when you hear religious people persuade you to give up your hopes. They are just doing their jobs. It is their nature to be hopeless and they cannot bear to see Christians living in hopes. Their carnal eyes cannot see beyond the natural. They will say, “If God wants me to be rich, I will be rich. If God wants me to be poor, I will be poor.” They refused to believe the truth that Jesus died poor at the Cross to make us rich despite it is clearly printed in the Bible. In their mind, as long as there is one Christian living in poverty, the promise of prosperity in the Bible is false and God is a liar.

This is why they never knew hope. They do not have the patience and the confidence for the future. If you are to join them in their religion, you will end up hopeless like them.

Some may want to ask “Why do I need hope?”

Hope gives life to our souls. It gives us things to look forward to every time we wake up. If you are a Christian, your place in heaven is secure by the Blood of Jesus. You will be in heaven when you die or the Rapture, whichever comes first. However, there is still some time between now and the day you step into heaven. I don’t know how long this time is but chances are it will be quite long.

What are you going to do in the meantime? This is where we need to have hopes in our lives. We were designed by God to live in hope. If you have nothing to hope for, start looking and begin you life in hope.

Let me share about one of my hopes. I want to have billions of dollars flowing into my bank accounts everyday. I want to use my billions to fight poverty. I want to build farms everywhere in the world including the Sahara Dessert to ensure there is enough food for everyone. No one will have to go through hunger when I am still on earth. I also want the true Gospel of Jesus Christ to be proclaimed to every corner of this world. Every human being in this world will have chance to hear from their own language that God loves them. God is good. He wants them to be blessed in every area in their lives. He sent Jesus to die at the Cross to redeem mankind from sin. Jesus took all our sins for us to live in righteousness. Jesus took all our sicknesses that we can live in health. Jesus died poor for us to live rich.

I look forward for my hopes to manifest on this earth.

Leave a Reply

