Give What You Have

6 But Peter said, “I don’t have any silver or gold for you. But I’ll give you what I have. In the name of Jesus Christ the Nazarene, get up and walk!”
Acts 3:6 (NLT)

Yesterday, I wrote to expose the religious twist on the above verse. In short, the above verse is not about Peter making a commitment to the Vow Of Poverty. However, I did not write on the application on this verse. I shall do so in this article.

This is the lesson from the above verse : Give what you have.

In the above scenario, Peter met a lame man. When the man saw Peter, he expected some money to help him to survive. However, Peter did not have any money at that time to give to him. (Please note that it does not imply that Peter will never be rich for the rest of his life. His lack was only specified at that place and time only.) Despite his financial setback, Peter did not give up and say, “Sorry, I have no money.” Peter gave what he had, the power to heal. He used his faith to confess healing to that man. The man got healed. After he got healed, he did not need to beg for survival anymore. He had the ability not only to survive but to thrive and prosper.

This is a great example for us believers. We should start giving with what we have. We should not give only when we become rich. If we do that we will never be rich. Instead of focusing on what we don’t have and feel sorry for ourselves, we should be grateful for what we have and start thanking God for them. This is true contentment. When we are contented with what we have, we will live lives of joy and peace. We will become natural givers. We will always have something to give away. However, contentment does not mean we must never improve. God wants us to improve in every area in our lives. We are to be wiser, healthier, stronger and richer. (This will offend the religious people but the truth is God also wants us to have more and more money in our bank accounts because this is a part of his prosperity plan for us).

None of us is completely poor. There is always something for us to give away. If you don’t have a lot of money, give a little money. If you don’t have any money at all, commit your prayers to others. Use your prayers, confessions and faith to bless others. This is counted as your giving. Peter did not have money at that time but that did not stop him from giving. Peter used his confession of faith to get the man healed. That man ended up receiving more than money. He had the ability to make money for himself. This means you can have significant results even if you do not have money to give away. Give your confessions like Peter.

Here is an example of myself. Currently I am giving a portion of my income to finance orphanages, schools and pastors training in Kenya. However, there is a limit on how much I can give now but I choose not to be limited by my income. This blog serves as a medium for me to give more. Through this blog I am giving away the revelations I receive from God through the Bible. I publish and share everything I have learned from God. In this way, more people will be blessed. I believe the harvest I am about to reap will be much more compared to the scenario where I relied on my financial giving alone. I am expecting for a great harvest to come to my life.

I suggest you to do likewise. If you have not been giving financially, I suggest you to start doing so. If you happen to be giving financially, I suggest you to explore other areas where you can give. Look around your neighborhood. Are there people who need prayers? Are there discouraged people out there who need some words of comfort? Are there any charities out there that need people to help them to deliver food for the poor? Find out what you can do and start doing it. In doing so, you are expanding your seed supply. You are sowing more than what your income allows you to sow. As a result, your harvest will be far greater.

Do you want great prosperity to come into your life? Start giving what you have.

One Response to “Give What You Have”


Leave a Reply

