God Will Never Abandon You

25 Once I was young, and now I am old. Yet I have never seen the godly abandoned or their children begging for bread.
Psalm 37:25 (NLT)

Welcome to the 13th installment on my study of Psalm 37. King David wrote this psalm and the above verse is his testimony. The Bible records the story of David from the time he was a shepherd boy to the time he died as the King of Israel. King David is telling us that from the time he knew God when he was young until he became old, he had never seen the godly abandoned or their children begging for bread.

If you consider God and King David are among the ones you can trust then you can live with the assurance that God will never abandon you. Neither will your children be begging for bread. Let us look at the idea of God not abandoning us. What does it mean?

When I was in my previous religious church, I had the wrong impression in the meaning of this term. I thought God not abandoning me means he will come and visit me when I was in trouble to tell me that he loves me and his grace is sufficient for me but does nothing to help me. The religious pastors had given me the false impression that God only knows how to give empty talk and do nothing to help me when I am in trouble. Yet the Bible says the opposite.

19 The righteous person faces many troubles, but the Lord comes to the rescue each time.
Psalm 34:19 (NLT)

When God says he will never abandon us, he means it. He promised to be with us and help us to overcome every trouble that we face.

Whenever we face any trouble, the Lord will come to rescue us each time. Not “sometimes”, not “most of the times” but “each time”. Another words for “each time” is “every time”.

Therefore, no matter what problems you are facing right now, may it be financial, health, relationship, career success or anything that you treasure, God is ready to come in to rescue and deliver you. He has all the answers you can ever need. The question here is not whether he is willing to help us but it is on whether we are willing to trust in him to help us.

When we are determined to trust in him, we are effectively giving him the permission to come into our lives and help us to overcome all our troubles. Why does he need our permission? God is not a tyrant. He will never force his will on us even if this will involves his blessings. As far as he is concerned, he has blessed us with every spiritual blessing. It is up to us now to convert these spiritual blessings into physical forms and the only way we can do that is through faith.

Yes, it is faith again. If you want to transfer your blessings from the spiritual to the physical realm and overcome all your troubles you have to build up your faith. You must make it a habit to read the Bible, pray, listen to faith messages, meditate and confess his words.

In the last part of Psalm 37:25, King David tells us that he has never seen the children of the godly beg for bread. This means they will never be poor. If you are a Christian, you can never be poor. A poor Christian is a contradiction in terms. It is illegal for Christians to be poor. If you are a Christian and you are not as rich as you want to be (this includes me as well) then you must realize that you have been robbed. Injustice has happened and it is our right and responsibility to take back what God has given to us.

Start developing your faith. Use it to take back your prosperity. Remember that God has already decided that he wished above all things that we should prosper and be in health as our souls prosper. It is time for us to agree with him.

4 Responses to “God Will Never Abandon You”

  1. cheryl Says:

    I reread your article and it softened my heart. I’m sorry to sound so hard right now, but I feel so deserted. I feel like I’ve done all things required of me and yet I am still sinking. Where is he? But your blog is kind and very hopeful. God Bless You.

  2. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    cheryl,

    You have given yourself to God. Now let him give himself to you. You are facing an impossible situation right now. Where is God when you need him most? Let me tell you where is he right now.

    He is working behind the scenes to deliver you.

    Why is he taking so long?

    He is preparing something big for you. Big things need more time.

    You may feel like sinking but the truth is God has everything under control. You need to believe and don’t give up. The moment you give up, everything will be over. Keep believing, expecting and confessing God’s good ness in your life. If you don’t know what to do, read the articles in this blog.

    The purpose God wants me to start this blog is to minister to people like you.

  3. john Says:

    We are rich in Christ but not just in financial term, we are rich in grace, in righteousness and in the aboundant of God’s goodness. Our richess are immeasurable but not limited to materialist possession. Thanks for words of encouragment.

  4. john Says:

    Gods love is with those who follow him whole heartedly


Leave a Reply

