He Will Give You Your Heart’s Desires

4 Take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires.
Psalm 37:4 (NLT)

Welcome to the second installment on my study of Psalm 37. In the first installment we learned that God wants us not to be worried and envious when we see ungodly people prospering because their prosperity is temporary. Instead we should trust in him and do good. Then we will live safely in the land and prosper. Psalm 37:4 tells us more about this prosperity.

It says take delight in the Lord, and he will give you your heart’s desires. It seems that prosperity is more than just having a lot of money or things that money can buy. God’s desire is to give us our hearts’ desires. This means that no matter what desires you have in your heart, God will give them to you. Is there a condition to get those desires fulfilled? Psalm 37:4 tells us the only condition we have to meet to have our hearts’ desires is to take delight in the Lord.

What does taking delight means? It means being happy when we are spending time with God. Does it mean being religious? Certainly not. The religious way of approaching God is to force themselves to pray and read the Bible. Religious people regard spending time with God and obeying him as a chore and obligation. These are things that they have to force themselves to do to avoid the wrath of God. I was one of them before. Therefore, it is impossible for people under the bondage of religion to take delight in the Lord.

In order to be successfully taking delight in the Lord, we need to know and understand the true nature of God. He loves us greatly. Nothing makes him happier than to see us happy. He wants us blessed in every area in our lives, which include our finances, health, families and success in all our works. Yes, he wants all of us to be rich, healthy and have long lives despite the protest of religious people. When we understand the above truth, we will be drawn to him. We don’t have to behave like those religious people in forcing ourselves to spend time with God. Thus, we can have the joy that they don’t have in our communion with God our father.

This is how I live now. When I was in my previous religious church, I considered all the spiritual disciplines like praying and reading the Bible as things I must do or God will not be pleased. I felt like I was threatened to do these things. Thank God, he has opened my eyes to these religious lies. Now, I pray, read the Bible, confess my blessings, sow and obey God with joy in my heart. I do all these things because I like to do them not because I am threatened. This means I can choose not to do them and still dare to face God without being ashamed. I am no longer under threat.

This is freedom. Jesus died at the Cross to set us free and not to subject us to any bondage.

1 So Christ has truly set us free. Now make sure that you stay free, and don’t get tied up again in slavery to the law.
Galatians 5:1 (NLT)

We are no longer slaves to the law. We obey God because we want to and not because we have to. We obey God because we are happy to do so. We are able to take delight in the Lord and he promised us that he will give us our hearts’ desires.

So, what desires do you have in your heart right now? Start taking delight in the Lord. He will give you your heart’s desires.

2 Responses to “He Will Give You Your Heart’s Desires”

  1. Evelyn Says:

    My husband marry me a virgin. We have been married for 32 years. Also he had committed adultrey over and over and I tried to forgive him but he continued. To summered it down, I had always been faithful to him in every way and I worked hard to keep my marriage even though I had fallen out of love with him, but as soon as I had enough of it and want to divorce him he shylessly is staying home so that I can stay. Please comment but I have no feelings for him whatsoever and I feel that there is no point of return

  2. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    Adultery is a good basis for divorce. Even Jesus agreed to that although it is still considered as politically incorrect in a typical church environment. However, it is your life that matters here.

    Based on what you have shared, I would say go for it. Get rid of that scum and get a new life. You deserve a resurrection.


Leave a Reply

