The Faith Of Moses II

27 It was by faith that Moses left the land of Egypt, not fearing the king’s anger. He kept right on going because he kept his eyes on the one who is invisible.
Hebrews 11:27 (NLT)

Welcome to the eighteenth installment on my study of faith from Hebrews 11. You may notice that I am breaking my own tradition of writing one installment per day. Why is that so? I don’t know. I just feel like I want to write more.

The first part of Hebrews 11:27 tells us that it was by faith that Moses left the land of Egypt, not fearing the king’s anger. Is that true? This is opposite of what we can see in the book of Exodus.

13 The next day, when Moses went out to visit his people again, he saw two Hebrew men fighting. “Why are you beating up your friend?” Moses said to the one who had started the fight.
14 The man replied, “Who appointed you to be our prince and judge? Are you going to kill me as you killed that Egyptian yesterday?”
Then Moses was afraid, thinking, “Everyone knows what I did.”
15 And sure enough, Pharaoh heard what had happened, and he tried to kill Moses. But Moses fled from Pharaoh and went to live in the land of Midian.
When Moses arrived in Midian, he sat down beside a well.
Exodus 2:13-15 (NLT)

According to Exodus 2, Moses was afraid of the king’s anger. He escaped Egypt out of fear and not faith. Why is there such a contradiction between Exodus 2 and Hebrews 11? It is possible that God made a mistake? The second part of Hebrews 11:27 gives us a clue to this mystery. It says Moses kept right on going because he kept his eyes on the one who is invisible. This means Moses’ focus and attention was on God who is invisible rather than on the situation. Mummy (the human type) did a good job in teaching him about God and the Covenant of Abraham.

What has this got to do with the “contradiction”?

It seems to tell us that as long as we keep our faith and focus on God we are assured of the fact that God’s impression of us is always positive. Let us go to greater detail. As Moses grew up, he knew of God’s calling in his life. He knew of his destiny as the deliverer of his people and he was eager to fulfill it. However he lacked patience. One day he saw an Egyptian beating a Hebrew. He played hero and killed the bully. Then he buried the corpse and hoped that no one knew. The next day, when he tried to stop 2 Hebrews from fighting, he found out that his effort not being appreciated by his people. Not only that he realized that the secret of his murder was no longer a secret. He was afraid of being arrested. So he flee. In short, he made a mistake.

He had mistaken by interpreting God’s calling in his life as the right to kill anyone who oppressed his people. As a result, he had to flee Egypt in fear. However it was not a mistake to believe his calling from God. In the eyes of God, his faith is more than enough to supercede his mistake. Therefore, in God’s view Moses left Egypt out of faith and not fear.

Does this encourage you? You may have made mistakes in the past. Some of them are serious mistakes. You feel ashamed of yourself every time you are reminded of them. You cannot lift your head high nor can you face life confidently because of those mistakes you made in the past. Here is the word of the Lord for you: He does not remember your past mistakes. In his mind you are perfect. As far as he can remember, your past life is perfect. All you have to do is to believe in him.

Let us have another verse:

12 And I will forgive their wickedness, and I will never again remember their sins.
Hebrews 8:12 (NLT)

God promised that he would not remember our sins and our past mistakes. What does this mean? In his mind, we have never committed any sins at all. This gives us the confidence to go to him as we are. It does not matter if you have low opinion of yourself. It does not matter if you are still struggling in your sins. Go to God in prayer and he will deliver you.

Let me put it in another way. Imagine yourself praying to God asking, “Lord, can you tell me about the sin I committed five minutes ago?” God’s reply will be “What sin? I don’t remember you have any sin at all.” If God does not answer like that, or at least give any indication that he remembers some of your sins, he broke his promise.

“Does this mean, as a Christian, I can sin as much as I can?”

Your sins cannot change God’s love and acceptance of you but they can cause negative side effects in your life on earth. They can block your prosperity on earth. In my previous article entitled, “We are Gods”, I have shown that as Christians, we are the children of God and born of God. As such, we belong to the same species as God, our father. This makes us gods (I am referring to the species). Sins and gods don’t mix. Sin is the natural state for fallen men but not for gods. As gods, sin is below us. Sin is unworthy of us.

A god who lives in sin is like a millionaire who eats from the garbage. A millionaire does not eat from the garbage not because he is not allowed to but because he does not want to. He considers the act of eating from the garbage as unworthy of his wealth and status. Likewise, as gods we do not live in sin not because we are restraint from sinning but because we are not interested in it. The more you are aware of your god-hood, the less attractive sin becomes to you. Sin has no more power over you. You are free from the power of sin.

This is opposite from the lies I heard from my previous religious church. When I was in my religious church, I was told that I must not sin. I must restraint myself from sinning. Not sinning was so difficult and burdensome. The more I tried not to sin, I found myself sinning more. I constantly failed. I was convinced that God was not pleased with me because I still commit sins. The irony was, the less I bother about sin, the lesser I sinned.

Thank God for exposing the lies of religion. Now that I know the true gospel, I can achieve freedom from sin effortlessly. Please note that freedom from sin does not mean you will never commit any sin. It refers to not living in sin and making sin a habit in your life. When you have some sins stick to you once a while, all you have to do is to brush it off just like when you find dust sticking on your face. Surely you are not going to swallow all the dust that stick on your body. Likewise, don’t ”swallow” sins. Brush them off because they are not worthy of you.

This is the holy life God wants us to live. True holiness comes from faith not religion.

Leave a Reply

