Rejoice In The Lord Always

Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!
Philippians 4:4 (NIV)

I am taking another break from Hebrews 11 today because I believe God wants us to take a serious view on joy. When I was in my previous religious church, I have heard a message on rejoicing too, but they made it so religious and burdensome that the act of being in joy has become something that is full of stress. I was glad that I only had to go to church once a week because if I have to “rejoice” more often, I would probably fall sick out of stress. I suspect the calling for every religious church is to turn every positive message from the Bible into something opposite.

However, today we can truly rejoice because our God is not the person the religious churches described him to be. He truly loves us, cares for us and has a wonderful future for each of us. Philippians 4:4 was written by Paul when he was in a prison. If he was to think of his situation, there was no cause to be rejoicing. Yet he was advocating it. Why? His attention and focus was on God. This gave him the ability to have joy in his heart even if he was physically in a negative situation.

You could be in a negative situation right now. You may have a health problem. The doctors might have told you that you have terminal disease and you can die soon. Or you are facing a massive financial problem and you are broke. No matter how bad you situation is, God wants you to have joy in your heart. Do you know why?

Nehemiah said, “Go and enjoy choice food and sweet drinks, and send some to those who have nothing prepared. This day is sacred to our Lord. Do not grieve, for the joy of the LORD is your strength.”
Nehemiah 8:10 (NIV)

The joy of the LORD is our strength! You may not have the will power to persevere through your trials. You may not have the money you need. You may find your enemies to be too powerful for you to overcome. You may be on the verge of giving up your faith. However, as long as you still have the joy of the LORD in your heart, you can still win. You can still turn the situation around. You will have the strength to rise up again no matter how many times you have been knocked down. You will have the strength to look at the devil in the eyes and say, “Don’t celebrate yet, devil. I may be down but I am not out. No matter how bad the situation is, I will never give up. I will never surrender. This battle is not over! The only way it can end is when I win. No matter what the situation says, I am destined to win. You are destined to lose.”

When we are rejoicing in the midst of negative circumstances, we are telling God that we trust him and we believe what he said is true even if the situation around us does not agree with us. This is faith. God loves it and he will honor our faith. When we are in joy, our minds will be filled by positive thoughts and become more receptive to God. Why do we need to be more receptive to God? He has all the answers. Don’t you think that God has the solution for every problem you can ever face? As long as you are connected to him, you will have all the answers you need.

However if we choose to be upset, depressed, stressed and think negative when we are in a bad situation, we are cutting off our communication link with God. How can you overcome your problems when you cut yourself from the person who has the solution? This is why negative people can never be successful.

Let us look at Philippians 4:4 in full context.

4Rejoice in the Lord always. I will say it again: Rejoice!
5Let your gentleness be evident to all. The Lord is near.
6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.
7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:4-7 (NIV)

Philippians 4:5 tells us to let our gentleness be evident to all because the Lord is near. What is gentleness? It is defined as strength under control. The strength that comes from joy is controlled strength. It is not destructive, it is constructive. It is not just an empty emotion outburst. It delivers results, in particular positive results that we want. The Lord is always with us. He is near us even if we are going through some rough patches in our lives. So, don’t give up you faith. The Lord is with us and he will deliver us. We have to keep believing and rejoicing in him.

Why should we do when we are anxious about something?

6Do not be anxious about anything, but in everything, by prayer and petition, with thanksgiving, present your requests to God.
7And the peace of God, which transcends all understanding, will guard your hearts and your minds in Christ Jesus.
Philippians 4:6-7 (NIV)

Philippians 4:6 tells us not to be anxious and to overcome anxiousness with prayers and petitions. Prayer is the best answer to anxiousness because it links us to the one who has all the answers. We are also told that we are to pray with thanksgiving. Why is thanksgiving needed? Being in a thanksgiving mode means we are thanking God in advance for answering our prayers and delivering us. This means we believe in receiving what we pray for. Prayer is useless if we do not believe we will receive what we pray for. Prayer can only work if and only if we believe we will receive.

24Therefore I tell you, whatever you ask for in prayer, believe that you have received it, and it will be yours.
Mark 11:24 (NIV)

Philippians 4:7 gives us the results of obeying Philippians 4:4-6. We will have the peace of God. This peace will transcend all understanding. It will guard our hearts and our minds in Christ Jesus. Once our hearts and minds are guarded, we will not be stressed, depressed and think negative. We will be in perfect peace no matter how chaotic the external situations are. We will have joy in our hearts and the faith to overcome every challenge that come into our lives.

This is the future God wants us to have. Start rejoicing!

5 Responses to “Rejoice In The Lord Always”

  1. peacefulone Says:

    Hi Chee! If I hadn’t seen it with my own two eyes; I might not have believed it! What you’re speaking of is exactly what our minister spoke of today at church. He too by the Spirit of God spoke of the Apostle Paul. We’re also marching through Phillipians word by word, line by line, precept by precept and getting revelation.

    One thing I’ve found about joy is that people express it and show it in different ways; I guess that’s why the Word of God says that God measures the heart; He can tell.

    That joy is a key to something; it’s important and God wants us to have it! I will. Thanks for a great reminder and telling us why it’s so important. All the best, your friend E

    P.S. I put the book up on my site. Many will be Blessed! E

  2. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    Hi Elaine, I am glad to know about it. I knew God wanted me to write about joy but I had no idea that someone else received the same calling. I am glad to know I am not the only one.

    Thank you for promoting my book. In doing so, you are helping me to sow my seed far and wide. Would you like me to buy you a house after I get my harvests?

  3. peacefulone Says:

    Hi Chee! If God puts it on your heart. How’d you know that I love houses. I might add that I love God more than houses and His desires are my desires.

    Well our main thing my brother is that we continue our work in spreading the Good News and persevere in our mission to add to God’s family. Thank God I met you. You’re a great friend. I’ve got joy! E

  4. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    Hi Elaine. The truth is I have no idea you love houses. I was thinking in the line of buying you coffee but I find coffee to be unsuitable for 2 reasons:
    1. Both of us live at the opposite side of the planet. Taking a plane to the other side of earth just to drink coffee seems to be too silly.
    2. I expect a great harvest for my seeds, at least in the range of millions of Euros (I don’t like US Dollars now because it keeps dropping in value). How can I just give you a cup of coffee? I though the least I can do is to give you a house.

    I agree with you. The abundant prosperity God wants us to have goes beyond our own needs and desires. It reaches out to the world with the Gospel Of Jesus Christ.

  5. peacefulone Says:

    Hi Chee! That’s cute, very kind. Yeah, I felt guilty later because I have a house already and so many people don’t. So, in keeping when I get the new house; I’ll have to give mine away.

    I think I’ll find a family that doesn’t have one; when the big day comes. Thanks. I had a makeover as you can see. (smiles) I took off a few years too. It’s nice to have a face lift and tummy tuck without the surgery. Which I might add I don’t believe in anyways. I owe you an apology; I forgot to add your name in my article on Blog shout outs in my email; but I wrote about you in my Blog “irth” day article with a link to your Weblog. For a fact; people will be Blessed. Well gotta go, we’ve got to get up early to shovel snow. Blessings E


Leave a Reply

