The Power Of The Human Spirit

14 The human spirit can endure a sick body, but who can bear a crushed spirit?
Proverbs 18:14 (NLT)

Do you find the title of this article sounds humanistic and non-christian? Let me make this clear. I believe in the reliance of God’s faithfulness and love to see me through every trial and temptation. However, this does not mean I don’t read the Bible. The above verse tells us about our human spirit. Our spirits were designed by God to have the power to overcome anything including sick bodies. As long as our spirit remains healthy, we can endure any pain and suffering. However, if our spirit is crushed then everything is over for us.

I don’t think it is a surprise anymore to hear testimonies on people recovering from their terminal stage of cancer because they refused to give up. Their spirits keep rejecting the message from their sicken bodies and vow to fight on. They have the fighting spirit and determined to fight on to their last breath. In the end, their terminal disease that is supposed to be incurable has to give up and go away. They have beaten their disease.

On the opposite side, there are also people with crushed spirit. They have lost their fighting spirit and the desire to live. While they may have perfect health according to the medical reports, they are dying inside. As a result, they will die very soon not because of any sickness but because they were already dead in the inside.

I would like to bring to your attention that I categorize the above as a natural law. As explained in my earlier article, a natural law is a law that works on everyone regardless on whether they believe in it or not. It works for christians as well as non christians.

The world knows about this and had capitalized on this law. They just don’t name the Bible as the source. Pick up any self-help book in the bookstore and you will find this law being explained and used in various areas – fighting cancer, becoming a millionaire, long life etc.

So, the question here is, if the world who do not believe in Jesus can use the natural laws from the Bible for their success, why not us, christians? It is time for us to put aside all the religious doctrines and start to read the Bible as it is. The key to our prosperity and success in every area is in the Bible.

8 Study this Book of Instruction continually. Meditate on it day and night so you will be sure to obey everything written in it. Only then will you prosper and succeed in all you do.
Joshua 1:8 (NLT)

I have lost count on how many times I have quoted Joshua 1:8 but I couldn’t help it. In my opinion this verse has the best definition on how to use the Bible. It tells us to study it continually, meditate on it day and night, and obey it. The result is prosperity and success in everything you do. Isn’t this a good incentive for us?

You may be very sick right now. The doctors may have told you that your sickness has reached the terminal stage and there is no cure. You have to understand that the doctors’ conclusion is only based on their limited knowledge on the natural laws of the human body. Their professional report does not cover the power of the human spirit. They certainly do not know that Jesus has taken all your sickness and disease at the Cross.

4Surely our sicknesses he hath borne, And our pains — he hath carried them, And we — we have esteemed him plagued, Smitten of God, and afflicted.
Isaiah 53:4 (Young’s Literal Translation)

So, don’t be despair. Do not allow your spirit to be crushed. Tell the doctors respectfully, “Dear doctors. I respect your medical knowledge and I am sure you know lot about the disease that I am suffering right now. However, there are also truths you don’t know of. When my Jesus died at the Cross 2,000 years ago, he took all my sickness with him. This disease has no right to come to me and deny me of the right to my health. Therefore I am going to fight this disease until it is completely gone and I am confident of winning. Let us have a bet. Give me a date that I am supposed to killed by this disease and I will bet I will out live it.”

Imagine the shock on their faces, when you turned up alive on the day you are supposed to be dead. Imagine the confusion that could have happened when they run tests on you then and couldn’t find any trace of the disease that you were supposed to have. Isn’t it fun to be a christian?

11 Responses to “The Power Of The Human Spirit”

  1. peacefulone Says:

    Brother Chee, thank you so much for such a fine writing. My mom and I were just talking about this yesterday. I would like to send people over that come to my Healing Site to read it. IT will Bless many many people. Thanks for your diligent work and your obedience! Blessings!

  2. A Powerful Message On Healing! « Healmenow (Cafe Sozo) Says:

    […] The Power Of The Human Spirit by Yeap Chee Seng READ HERE! […]

  3. Sharon Says:

    Wow thanks for this I love it.. I found a link to your post over at Elaine’s site.. Yes.. the Holy Spirit is linking us together.. getting the message out I like to say!! Yay!! I found Elaine.. then I found you.. I know Elaine.. and now I know you!! Elaine links to me.. and she to you and then I link to you from someplace else.. ha and so it goes.. How beautiful are the feet of him/her that brings good news..

    I will add a link to your article from a Healing Ministry forum I minister at… Thank you..

    I just have to praise God here.. thank You Lord for the good news.. You save us.. and You heal us.. Halleujah.. we are saved inside and out!! /

  4. YCS Says:

    Thanks Sharon. I believe that if we join our faiths we can expect great miracle coming our way.

  5. Joanne Says:

    this is just wonderful thanks for sharing

  6. YCS Says:

    You are welcome Joanne.

  7. nancy Says:

    thank you very much for the message. iam very much touched by your message and i have learned how to fight to live. i was a victim i felt like i was dying inside but now am a new person who has said NO iam living and my heart and my bodyand soul are healed. i thank god for u and i praise him today tomorrow and forever. he is a great good GOD.

  8. YCS Says:

    You are welcome

  9. Pastor Godwin Says:

    Dear Pastor,
    I am greatly blessed. I want to know more about this subject. Please send me if you have. I serve our Lord Jesus Christ here in India among non-Christians and needy people. Kindly visit our website to know more about us.
    We are looking for a land of our own to build a Church and start worshiping. Kindly pray for this prayer request.
    God bless
    Pastor Godwin Robert

  10. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    Thank you pastor. All my information is in this blog. Please feel free to explore every article that I have posted and the sites listed in the blogroll.

    By the way, I am not a pastor. I am a project manager with an engineering background. This blog on Bible Engineering.

  11. GENEY Says:

    …ITS VERY INSPIRING MESSAGE.. I REALLY LEARNED A LOT.. TNX A LOT FOR THE TEACHINGS..


Leave a Reply

