Your Tongue Controls Your Destiny

21 The tongue has the power of life and death, and those who love it will eat its fruit.
Proverbs 18:21 (NIV)

When asked, “What or who controls your destiny?” how will you answer?

An atheist will probably say, “Destiny is a future event shaped by a collection of millions of random events. No one can ever control it.” This is why being an atheist is not fun. You can never go beyond the natural circumstances in life.

Religious people including carnal christians will name God and any equivalent as the person controlling their destiny. To these people, there is some one up there whose job is to arrange every event in their lives. For example, if I step on a banana skin and fall, it is God who has arranged for the banana skin to be there in order for me to fall. Why? I don’t know. I just know it is him. Nothing is by accident. Everything happens by the will of God. This is basically what religious christians believe in.

I find it really silly. Think of the following scenario. Supposed you were hit by a car, driven by a drunk driver. Is the entire event the will of God? If you say “yes”, then you must also acknowledge that the drunk driver who knocked you down is doing the will of God. It will be unjust for the law to prosecute him. Christians must join forces to petition the governments around the world to stop punishing all criminals at all because it is our God’s will for the crimes to be committed. The criminals are just complying with the will of our God.

Let us extend this reasoning further. If it can be the will of God for you to be knocked down by a drunk driver, it can also be the will of God for you to be the drunk driver. One day, God can instruct you to get drunk, drive a car and knock somebody down. Will you obey?

I hope I have illustrated clearly that it is silly to believe everything that happened is the will of God. Let us look at what the Bible says. The above verse tells us that the tongue (refers to our tongues) hold the power of life and death. Of course this power comes from God but he has delegated this power to us, in particular our tongues.

What does this mean? God says we have the power to our destiny through our tongues. What type of future is awaiting us is dependent entirely on our tongues. The words that come out from our mouth, our confessions decide our destiny. The religious people mocked us with name like “Name It And Claim It Gospel” but they failed to see that the power of confession is clearly stated in the above verse.

One special part of confession is this, even those who do not believe in its power will still use it. How? Every time you open your mouth to say something, you are making a confession. The main difference between believers and non-believers is this, believers confess life but non-believers confess death.

Here is an example:
When things go wrong in your life, what will you say? Do you speak life or death?

In my culture as an ethnic Chinese in Singapore, I have heard my colleagues uttering the word “si” meaning “die” in a Chinese dialect whenever thing go wrong. This word is even used by non-chinese. They were speaking death. The definition of “things go wrong” can be as minor as work disruption due to rain, late delivery by suppliers or any events that really minor. So by speaking death, they made situation worse. This is called negative confession. So, it doesn’t matter you are a christian or not, as long as you can open your mouth to speak, you are practising Proverbs 18:21.

On the brighter side, we do have positive customs. After all, I don’t believe any culture can be so perfect that it is 100% evil. One day in every year, the Chinese around the world celebrate Chinese New Year. This is basically the first day of the year in the Chinese Calender. On this day, without fail, every Chinese will speak life. We do not allow negative words to come out from our mouth. We greet each other with words of prosperity, good health, long life, success, happiness and other good stuffs. On this day, once every year, every Chinese practises Proverbs 18:21 in a positive way. How I wish we do this every day instead of once a year.

The message of this article is you and I have the control to our future. God has decreed that out tongues have the final authority to determine what type of future that will come to pass in our lives. What we speak is what we will become.

“Does this mean I should not say I am sick even though I am really sick?”

No. You can acknowledge your sickness but you should not meditate and continually confess it. Instead of saying, “I am so sick that I feel like dying.”, start confessing, “I am currently experience the symptoms of sickness but I believe Jesus had taken all my sickness and diseases at the Cross. By his stripes I am healed. Therefore I reject these symptoms of sickness in Jesus’s name. I am not moved by what I see. I am not moved by what I hear. I am not moved by what I feel. I am only moved by what I believe and I believe in the Word Of God. The Word Of God says I am healed. That settles it.”

If we can use our tongues the same way when we face any adverse situations, then these adverse situations will not last. So, the conclusion is start to speak life instead of death, speak prosperity instead of poverty, speak health instead of sickness, speak success instead of failure and speak positive instead of negative. See if your life is not changed.

Do not let this Book of the Law depart from your mouth; meditate on it day and night, so that you may be careful to do everything written in it. Then you will be prosperous and successful.
Joshua 1:8(NIV)

3 Responses to “Your Tongue Controls Your Destiny”

  1. Betsy Says:

    Very nice.

  2. Yeap Chee Seng Says:

    Thank you.

  3. Kaffein Says:

    Good stuff, very very biblical. It is sad that many Christians whom I know still choose not to believe it.

    Imagine how the world will rock when Christian put God’s words in their mouth – speaking life instead of agreeing with what the world says.

    In His Love,
    Kaffein


Leave a Reply

