Open The Floodgates Of Heaven

10 Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse, that there may be food in my house. Test me in this,” says the LORD Almighty, “and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.

11 I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not cast their fruit,” says the LORD Almighty.

12 “Then all the nations will call you blessed, for yours will be a delightful land,” says the LORD Almighty.

Malachi 3:10-12 (NIV)

Once upon a time, I classified “tithe” as a vulgar word.

The only reason for this was my ex-church used Malachi 3:10 only to ask for money and never preached the full context of the message behind it.

The message in the above verse is prosperity. Bringing the tithe into the storehouse will cause the floodgates of heaven to open for you. These floodgates will release an uncontrollable flood of blessings that overwhelm you. The subsequent verses show the blessings are material in nature. Material blessings are things you see, touch physically and have financial value (brings money into your bank account). I am sure this explanation is against the religious mentality of many people but this is the truth.

The tithe is an instrument used by God to bring prosperity to his people. God even says, “Test me in this “, inviting us to challenge him on whether he serious to bring us prosperity. I think he must be very serious to say such words.

What exactly should we test him in?

“and see if I will not throw open the floodgates of heaven and pour out so much blessing that you will not have room enough for it.”

Wow! He seems to want to bless me more than what I can take! I like the “not have room enough for it.”
It means blessed me beyond my wildest dreams. Whatever I can think of, may it be billions of dollars in net-worth, an A380 for my private plane, my personal island, a villa on the moon, he can give them to me and much more!

All I have to do is to play by the rules, “Bring the whole tithe into the storehouse”. Since the tithe is only 10% of my income, I can afford it. This is definitely the best deal in this world. I am in.

The next question is what is a storehouse? It is the church you attend. It is the place where you receive spiritual food. I used to tithe to my church but after I stopped attending due to some constraints, I shifted my tithe to the ministry that I derive my spiritual strength from, Jerry Savelle Ministries International. The bottom line is, the 10% of my income must go somewhere for the floodgates to open.

Some people may dispute the above verse and insisted that it means “spiritual” blessings, meaning blessings that has no financial value. My answer to them is, if the blessings are spiritual, then the tithe must also be spiritual. Go to your church leader and tell him that from now onwards you will only tithe “spiritually”, meaning you will tithe your time praying for the church and you will not give a single cent to the church. Look at his face and see how he responds.

Others may even say that the blessings are no longer valid. In this case, why bother to tithe? If the blessing of tithe is no longer valid, then tithe must also be no longer valid. Why waste your money?

They are wrong. The Bible has made it clear that tithing brings prosperity, in fact overwhelming prosperity – more than you can take it.

What is your choice now? As for me, I am opening the floodgates.

2 Responses to “Open The Floodgates Of Heaven”

  1. Jeanelle Says:

    good post! =) this is a great verse, but always be careful about using verses for our own advantages- He can give as much blessing as He wants, but what we may define as blessing He may not- it says

    “I will prevent pests from devouring your crops, and the vines in your fields will not cast their fruit” v11

    but unless you feel getting a jet or a personal island is part of His wonderful plan for you, or a way that you want to serve Him and not yourself then i believe you can ask Him for it. I know many people that use God as their personal genie, and obviously that’s taking advantage of His grace.

    “And you will again see the distinction between the righteous and the wicked, between those who serve God and those who do not.” v18

    simple: those who serve God seek to please God, those who do not seek to please themselves.

    i hope you did not feel i was condemning you in any way, just wanted to share some thoughts! =) keep striving in the Lord and may His love always be enough for you. take care and have a glorious day! ♥

  2. Jane Goody Says:

    Hey, nice tips. Perhaps I’ll buy a bottle of beer to the man from that forum who told me to visit your blog :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 55 other followers

